Lady Laidlaw Leads

Dean with Lady Laidlaw at Kenilworth

Dean with Lady Laidlaw at Kenilworth

Our leading owner Lady Christine Laidlaw has the highest win strike rate amongst the major owners in South Africa.

This emerged from a fascinating report issued by the Equine Group this week

There were no surprises at the top of owners’ title with Ingrid and Markus Jooste successfully defending the title easily measured by stakes earned or by number of wins throughout the year. The Jooste camp was led by reigning Horse of the Year Variety Club who had an unbeaten season including two Grade 1’s and also had the talented Captain of All and Blueridge Mountain bring home Grade 1 wins.

 Chris van Niekerk had a huge year in second once again with horses such as Heavy Metal, Pomodoro, Whiteline Fever, For the Lads and Kolkata representing him in major races throughout the year. No horse earned anything near as much as Heavy Metal this last year with his Champions Challenge G1 and Durban July G1 wins. To cap the season off for Van Niekerk he made history this year in successfully defending the Durban July G1 crown. 

 Fred Crabbia, Bridget Oppenheimer and Sabine Plattner rounded off the top five while the best win strike rate among major owners were Lady Laidlaw (31%), Shanks Syndicate (25%), Sheikh Hamdan (23%) and Al Adiyaat (22%).

Leave a Reply